on all orders over $50.00

Zola Jesus: OKAVI CD


Add to Cart:

  • Model: 44873-2
  • Out of Stock

Nika Roza Danilova has been recording music as Zola Jesus for more than a decade. For the majority of that time, she's been on Sacred Bones Records, and Okovi marks her reunion with the label. Fittingly, the 11 electronics-driven songs on Okovi share musical DNA with her early work on Sacred Bones. The music on this record was written in pure catharsis, and as a result, the sonics are heavier, darker, and more exploratory. In addition to the contributions of Danilova's longtime live bandmate Alex DeGroot, producer/musician WIFE, cellist/noise-maker Shannon Kennedy from Pedestrian Deposit, and percussionist Ted Byrnes all helped build the textural universe of these songs. Above all, Zola Jesus has crafted a profound meditation on loss and reconciliation that stands tall alongside the great works of it's genre. Okovi speaks of tragedy with great wisdom and clarity. It's songs plumb dark depths, but they reflect light as well.

Released Early September 2017 on Sacred Bones

Track Listing:
01.     Dogma         
02.     Exhumed          
03.     Soak    
04.     Ash to Bone    
05.     Witness    
06.     Siphon
07.     Veka
08.     Wiseblood
09.     Nmo
10.     Remains
11.     Half Life

youtube link pinterest link google link blog link payments we accept
Copyright © 2019 IsoTank Music. Powered by Zen Cart