on all orders over $50.00



Add to Cart:

  • Model: 45392-2
  • Out of Stock

In Greek mythology, Hekate is the goddess of magic, mediating between the realms of life and
death. Hekate, the band, was formed in 1991 and is one of the foremost protagonists of German
neofolk. Over the course of five albums, the group has combined folk, medieval and classical
music with striking percussion and electronic elements to create a distinctly individual style,
which reaches its temporary climax on their sixth record "Totentanz" ("dance of death").
Seven years after the release of "Die Welt der dunklen Gärten" ("the world of dark gardens"),
Hekate delivers its most refined compositions to date, playing both traditional, catchy neofolk
tunes and hypnotic tracks. In the process, the group manages to recall the atmosphere of early
90's apocalyptic folk without coming across as anachronistic. Enhanced by floating synthesizer
and drum arrangements, the music itself reflects the lyrical themes of "Totentanz": dealing with
our own mortality in the sense of "memento mori".
In this context, Hekate plays out its fondness for Romanticism with an urgent interpretation of
Prussian poet Joseph von Eichendorff's "Mondnacht" ("moon night"), and an album cover
graced with a (so-far unpublished) painting of the same name by German symbolist and art
nouveau artist Franz Stassen. Just as exclusive: the design of the album's book edition features
unpublished ink drawings from the series "Apokalyptische Landschaften" ("apocalyptic land-
scapes") by Hermann Wöhler, a painter influenced by magic realism who worked in secret
and whose paintings the art community is only now discovering years after his passing.
All of the included paintings are a part of Hekate singer Axel Menz' personal art collection.

Released Mid May 2018 by Auerbach. 

Track Listing:
CD 1:
01. The Old King  
02. Lost and Broken  
03. Mondnacht  
04. Luzifer Morgenstern
05. Ascension Day  
06. Totentanz  
07. Spring of Life  
08. Embrace of Light  
09. Desire
10. Am Meere
01. Etüde in g-Moll / The Old King   
02. Der Prem   
03. Lebenszeit
04. Another Lovesong   
05. Ich bin Euch gut – der kalte Schnitter


youtube link pinterest link google link blog link payments we accept
Copyright © 2019 IsoTank Music. Powered by Zen Cart