on all orders over $50.00


$47.99  $34.99
Save: 27% off

Add to Cart:

  • Model: 42742-2
  • Out of Stock

History of the Future Volume 2 highlights The Orb's often criminally overlooked but wildly creative 21st century catalog. Released on a variety of labels with new and old collaborators, Alex Paterson's post-2000 volley of sonic experiments retains the essential Orb ethos while returning to the underground that spawned it. This collection charts these exciting new strata, beginning with 2002's bold label venture, Paterson's Battersea cottage industry that presaged internet fever by releasing extremely limited digital EPs by The Orb and his mates, along with tasty T-shirts and coffee mugs. A few tracks from this enterprise are included here, including The Orb's "Cool Harbour." Also included are cuts from The Orb's time with respected German electronic label Kompakt, when Paterson and long-time collaborator Thomas Fehlmann released several low-key EPs and 2004's acclaimed album Okie Dokey It's The Orb On Kompakt (KOMP 045CD/KOM 128LP). After Bicycles & Tricycles (2004), Paterson teamed up with original partner-in-aural-mischief Martin Glover aka Youth plus Dreadzone's Tim Bran for 2008's towering bass-fest The Dream. History of the Future Volume 2 chronicles these two albums with several tracks including "Aftermath," "Gee Strings," "From a Distance" (co-written with Jimmy Cauty), and "Vuja De." In 2012 Paterson and Fehlmann recorded their monumental collaboration with Lee 'Scratch' Perry in Berlin, released as The Orbserver in the Star House and including "Golden Clouds," the reggae legend's own take on an early version of the classic Orb hit "Little Fluffy Clouds." The following year's sequel, More Tales from the Orbservatory, is also represented here, with Deadbeat's dub of "Fussball." The Orb's spaced odyssey after the '90s hits period is, in many ways, more exciting, innovative, and even fun -- the pressure was off and the real mischief could begin. The Orb has also continued to create significant, groundbreaking music since 2000, as beautifully displayed in this sparkling new collection. Bass is the place. Includes remixes by Spud, Kreature, Abacus, Blast Master, The Corpral, Oicho, Ricardo Villalobos and Max Loderbauer as Villod, Dabrye, and Deadbeat. 3CD/DVD Edition also includes remixes by Flowing, David Harrow, and Nocturnal Sunshine, and an appearance from The Elements.

The 3CD/DVD edition also includes Paterson's and Fehlmann's 17-minute soundtrack to Battersea Bunches, a short film by Paterson and Malicious Damage's Mike Coles that was screened at Battersea Power Station in June 2010 and released the following year on DVD. DVD is NTSC format, region free.

Track Listing CD1 "North Side/Fire":
01.     Suck My Kiss     04:27     
02.     I Am the Red Worm     05:23     
03.     The Truth Is...     06:45     
04.     Aftermath     04:42     
05.     Prime Evil     05:16     
06.     Eurofen     04:45     
07.     Let the Music Set You Free     07:03     
08.     From a Distance (Blast Master vs. The Corpral)     03:57     
09.     D.D.D (Dirty Disco Dub) Unite 1 (Mad Orb)     04:57     
10.     Vuja De     05:47     
11.     Sail     06:00     
12.     Codes     08:15     
13.     Apple Tree (Abacus Remix)     08:50     
14.     The Orbots Surround the Trojan Horse     00:58     
CD 2 "West Side/Earth":
01.     Gee Strings     06:44     
02.     Cool Harbour     05:13     
03.     Ripples     05:53     
04.     Super Soakers     08:44     
05.     Pebbles     01:10     
06.     Captain Karma     04:15     
07.     Baghdad Batteries     05:11     
08.     Dolly Unit (Flowing Remix)     08:53     
09.     Battersea Bunches Original Soundtrack     17:29     
10.     OOPA     06:14     
11.     Shem     04:28     
12.     Shem Version     04:36     
CD 3 "South Side/Water":
01.     Chuck's Peaks     09:24     
02.     Dilmun     04:01     
03.     Tower Twenty Three (Spud vs. Kreature Mix)     06:35     
04.     D.A.D.O.E.S.     09:08     
05.     Angel 4 Matrix     03:37     
06.     Falkenbrueck     03:34     
07.     Edelgrun     05:56     
08.     Glen Coe     04:55     
09.     Traumvogel     06:26     
10.     Golden Clouds (Oicho Remix)     04:42     
11.     Soulman (Villod Remix) (TF Edit)     06:30     
12.     Ball of Fire (Dabrye Remix)     04:15     
13.     Fussball (Deadbeat's Champions League Dub)     08:02

youtube link pinterest link google link blog link payments we accept
Copyright © 2019 IsoTank Music. Powered by Zen Cart