on all orders over $50.00



Add to Cart:

  • Model: 50517-2
  • Out of Stock

Limited Edition of strictly 700 copies. Amazing 3CD with BOOK (72 pages, hardcover, large-sized 18x18cms!) 34 Tracks in total, incl. 2 unreleased tracks, all remastered tracks, liner notes by Ecki Stieg

This is the long overdue second anthology dedicated to the Swedish pioneers of electronic music. On 3 CDs, the finest tracks from the 14 song albums have been collected and diligently remastered. The 7 instrumental works of the band's catalogue have been deliberately left out of this project, which is intended to serve as a comprehensive musical guide through the band's outstanding career spanning over 4 decades of groundbreaking works. In addition to the known material, the band has also added two new tracks.

TWICE A MAN never took the easy way. Long before it became fashionable, the Swedes positioned themselves as early environmentalists, which became a theme running through their lyrics but is also reflected in their music, which amalgamates futuristic electronics and organic elements from the start. In their holistic approach of creating a sonic cosmos of their own, the band resembles The Legendary Pink Dots. Musically, theirs is a different story that been lovingly described as "Ultravox on weed – also melancholic but without the saccharine pathos" or "like a sad Gary Numan, but with a warm, organic touch". There are also gentle echoes of Tangerine Dream, Klaus Schulze and The Human League among many other possible references.

When singer, guitarist, and keyboarder Dan Söderqvist teamed up with synth player Karl Gasleben in 1977, the duo formed Cosmic Overdose as the first electronic band in Scandinavia. Although they sang in Swedish, their two albums created a buzz abroad, which led to Cosmic Overdose being invited to support New Order on their first Scandinavian tour in 1981. Being impressed with the band's performance, New Order’s English promoter invited them over to the UK, but he found the name Cosmic Overdose to be too closely related to drugs. This led to a change of band name to TWICE A MAN and the first concert under the new moniker took place in London on the 14th of December 1981.

In hindsight, the artistic contributions and keen interest of Twice a Man in environmental issues turns out to be quite prophetic. With our planet moving towards a catastrophe that is driven by human greed and stupidity, it seems that now is the perfect time to rediscover the pioneering work of this Swedish band. The art of Twice a Man reconciles electronic technology with the organic and natural. "Songs of Future Memories (1982-2022)" sends a beautiful and strong message to be both heard and enjoyed.

Released Late January 2023 by Dependent. 

Tracks Listing:
01. Move 
02. Russian 
03. Decay 
04. Goat II 
05. Balloons 
06. Talking to the Wall
07. Observations from a Borderland 
08. Fear 
09. Across the Ocean 
10. Distant Calls
11. Still in the Air 
12. Divided Light 
13. Tribal Ways
01. Back on Venus 
02. Girl 
03. Driftwood 
04. Yellow Flowers 
05. Crane Dance 
06. Speed
07. Reality Built For Two 
08. Shivanayama 
09. Somebody Sang Your Name 
10. Skylark
11. Shoe 
12. Tranquil Moonlit Lake 
13.  Where Are You Now
01. Black 
02. Presence 
03. High in the Clouds 
04. Cocoon 7 
05. Fireflies 
06. Modern World
07. Lotus 
08. Dahlia

youtube link pinterest link google link blog link payments we accept
Copyright © 2024 IsoTank Music. Powered by Zen Cart