on all orders over $50.00



Add to Cart:

  • Model: 49926-1
  • In Stock

Pure black 12" vinyl mini-album. Matte black die-cut sleeve & inlay on kraft cardboard. Limited edition of 100 copies incl. digital download-code. design by stefan alt

'Recursive behaviors', in more than one sense, investigates a mutual space where humans and machines mingle and exchange sonic materials with one another. Machines infused with chaotic processes, allowed to follow their own strange and unstable logic. The machines develop their own internal sonic language. A lexicon and syntax of sound, at times playing fragile melodies, other times developing textural structures, locked into semi-repetitive rhythms. Timbres emerging from the intertwined recursions that form the backbone of their internal wiring. Machines able to analyze their own actions and adapt behavioral patterns. Machines that hum, sing, mumble and scream.

'Recursive behaviors' started out with extended recordings of these machines, letting them act out in uninterrupted passages of sonic expression. These recordings formed the backbone of each of the pieces, as a opening statement waiting for a response. My initial counter took the shape of cello improvisations, complementing the electronic textures with slow moving, sorrowful drones. This resulted in a back and forth between the calls of the cybernetic machines and a range of acoustic responses. Pieces written as much by the instruments themselves as through any human engagement with them.

Released Late April 2022 by Ant-Zen.

Tracks Listing:
A1. The Error-Controlled Regulator [15:13]
B1. Centrifugal Near-Equilibrium [07:56]   
B2. Compound Disturbance [07:20]

youtube link pinterest link google link blog link payments we accept
Copyright © 2024 IsoTank Music. Powered by Zen Cart