on all orders over $50.00

Steve Roach / Jeffrey Fayman: TRANCE SPIRITS (2022 REMASTER) CD


Add to Cart:

  • Model: 49890-2
  • In Stock

Projekt’s remastered edition of 2002’s long deleted Trance Spirits album returns to a hypnotic world of primal, passionate percussion innerwoven with a tapestry of sonic atmospheres and electronic hybrid grooves. These seven tracks pierce time with the heartbeat pulse of the electronic soul welded to organic drums of skin and wood, a rush of ecstatic spirit-catching rhythms elevating a meditative trance state.

Orchestrating a thunderous album of sound, Steve Roach’s expansive array of synthetic sound-worlds, hybrid groove percussion, and textural guitar-based atmospheres overlays the timbre-rich beauty of Middle Eastern and West African-influenced drumming. Pounding, pulsating percussion from drummers Jeffrey Fayman and Momodou Kah was recorded as a real-time continuum with long-form grooves performed live in the studio. Entranced by their own pro-pulsive spirals, the grooves evolve over the course of the tracks — it’s a complex juggernaut.

Later, in the Timeroom, Roach and Fayman shaped those initial recordings with Roach sculpting an overlay of electronics performed in the moment. Augmented on three tracks with subtle guitar tonalities from King Crimson’s Robert Fripp, the 74 minutes of music unleash primal forces with an intense undercurrent of rich, transporting rhythms anchoring the body to the energies of the earth and sky.

Sonic Curiosity: Expect dense trance music here: expansive regions of atmospheric drones punctuated by tribal percussion and astral tonalities. Sonic clouds roil and ooze with haunting moods that envelop the audience, lifting them from the earth and elevating them into realms that exist only in the mind.

Out-of-print on CD for almost a decade, Trance Spirits‘ throbbing, insistent mysterious rite employs ancient and modern musical devices to traverse layers of consciousness, reaching an ecstatic state of full body engagement trance illumination.

Released Early May 2022 by Projekt.
Tracks Listing:
01. Taking Flight - 2022 Remaster
02. Trance Spirits - 2022 Remaster
03. Off Spring - 2022 Remaster
04. Seekers - 2022 Remaster
05. The Calling - 2022 Remaster
06. Year of the Horse - 2022 Remaster

youtube link pinterest link google link blog link payments we accept
Copyright © 2023 IsoTank Music. Powered by Zen Cart