on all orders over $50.00

Stille Volk: MILHARIS (limited Artbook) digibook2CD


Add to Cart:

  • Model: 46606-2
  • In Stock

Since 1994, French pagan folk stalwarts Stille Volk have released 6 flawless albums, establishing a unique style of acoustic music with an arcane, rustic atmosphere that invokes primeval heathen nature. In this way, they have been one of the pioneers of a musical scene and, in fact, an entire subculture that venerates ancient traditions. With "Milharis", the quartet celebrates its 25th anniversary in style, inviting you to a musical journey through the old myths of the Pyrenees mountain range. Stille Volk have come full circle in several respects, not least thematically and musically. With a title harking back as far as 1997 to the song 'La Complainte De Milharis' from the band's debut "Hantaoma", the new record is easily their most consummate in terms of style, replete with lush acoustic arrangements and tribal percussions. "It is based upon Milharis, one of the most important characters in Pyrenean mythology," explains main man Patrice Roques. "This patriarch shepherd of supposedly 999 years is related to the origins of the mountains and evokes the arrival of the first snow there, which probably symbolizes the beginning of Christianization and therefore the end of paganism." Mixed and mastered by Markus Stock at Klangschmiede Studio E to highlight Stille Volk's instrumental prowess and sonic power, "it is still authentic pagan music. It contains energic songs with a mystical, spiritual atmosphere. There are long tracks without vocals but also symphonic choirs, and you hear the historic hurdy gurdy or nyckelharpa. It is a timeless, primal piece."

"Milharis" will also be available in a wonderful, limited 2CD book edition. Hardcover, 18x18cm, 48 pages with essays in both French and English, enhanced artwork and 3 bonus tracks. 

Released Late June 2019 by Auerbach.

Track Listing:
CD 1:
01. Sous la peau de la montagne   
02. L'aurost lunaire   
03. Incantation mystique
04. Le crépuscule du pâtre    
05. La mòrt de Milharis   
06. Dans un temps qui n'a pas d'histoire…
07. La grotte du jadis   
08. Sacré dans la tourmente   
09. Neige que versa le ciel noir…
10. Parmi les monts oubliés
CD 2:
01. Méditations sous le temple de granit   
02. Le tombeau de Beliou   
03. Linceul blanc


youtube link pinterest link google link blog link payments we accept
Copyright © 2024 IsoTank Music. Powered by Zen Cart