on all orders over $50.00



Add to Cart:

  • Model: 42205-2
  • Out of Stock

"Stella Nova” is an ensemble of passionate musicians moved by a common interest in ancient culture and music. Inspired by the work of the foremost Italian and foreign medieval music groups - those who stay true to historical medieval music through extensive research of paleographical, Iconographical and organological sources – “Stella Nova” musicians want to contribute to the rediscovery of medieval music and to the spirit with which to make this music today. “Stella Nova” transmits the medieval era with interpretive fidelity and uses accurate reconstructions of period instruments often obtained on the basis of precise iconographic references.

‘Cammini Medievali’ (Medieval paths) takes the listener on an ideal musical journey through medieval Europe which starts out from Spain, passes through France, and then arrives in Italy with songs that are significant from the musical repertoire of the period. Though the “Middle Ages” covers a very wide time span (from about 1000 a.d. to 1400 a.d.), only a small part of the musical production from the period has been passed down to us today and often it has been transmitted only orally.

The music in “Medieval paths” is both sacred and secular. The songs are taken from manuscripts, collections and codes that have fortunately been preserved over time and handed down to us. The instruments used by Stella Nova are accurate reconstructions of period instruments, taken from drawings found in medieval manuscripts,and in bas-reliefs, frescoes and iconography.

Released June 2014 on In The Morningside.

Track Listing:
1. Nu al’erst (Walter von der Vogelweide)
2. Pois que dos Reis (Cantìgas de Santa Maria)
3. Como poden (Cantìgas de Santa Maria)
4. Como somos per conssello (Cantìgas de Santa Maria)
5. Kalenda Maya (R. de Vaqueiras)
6. Saltarello III (anonymous)
7. Cuncti simus concanentes (Llibre Vermell de Montserrat)
8. Stella splendens (Llibre Vermell de M.)
9. Fate d’arera (anonymous)
10. Vergine Madre (Lauda Suore Trappiste of Vitorchiano)
11. Saltarello IV (anonymous)
12. Echo la primavera (F.Landini)
13. Conductus referentium vasa (Ludus Danielis)

youtube link pinterest link google link blog link payments we accept
Copyright © 2021 IsoTank Music. Powered by Zen Cart