on all orders over $50.00

Sylvgheist Maelstrom: NORILLAG CD


Add to Cart:

  • Model: 45405-2
  • In Stock

For the third time, Sylvgheist Maëlström takes us on a tour of the world, way off the beaten tourist
track, but to a location that bears witness to man’s propensity for self-destruction like no other:
Norillag, a former Soviet gulag and nowadays the (arguably) most polluted city in the world,
where people work in conditions that are inhumane beyond comprehension. Sylvgheist Maëlström
orchestrates his exploration with his unique brand of electronica, oscillating between the decep-
tively catchy and beautiful on the one hand, the outright bulky and experimental on the other. The
immersive flow of “Norillag” is topped off with two collaborations, featuring German producers
Moogulator and Philipp Münch respectively.
Off-beats, glitches and noise, in their most condensed form on the portrayal of a “Volcanic Storm”,
in rapid succession with moments of celestial beauty and rhythmic catchiness, just like in the
opener “Svalbard”. Generally, Sylvgheist Maëlström appears in an adventurous mood, defying
categorization, creating a rather timeless sound with references to 90s IDM and bleep, albeit in a
totally contemporary fashion and production value.
“Norillag”: Alienation by labour, dehumanization by accepting the inacceptable, a bleak subject
matter, an inspiring 70 minutes of music.

Released Mid May 2018 by Hands Productions

Track Listing:
01. Svalbard 290915  
02. Transition 1 160115  
03. Transition 2 130115  
04. Transition 3 Husavik 070115
05. Sanchi 060118  
06. Norilsknickel 080317  
07. Sinabung 040116  
08. Mariana 131115
09. Mayak 160717  
10. Volcanic Storm 080915  
11. Alienation (featuring Moogulator)
12. Insanity (featuring Philipp Münch)


youtube link pinterest link google link blog link payments we accept
Copyright © 2021 IsoTank Music. Powered by Zen Cart