on all orders over $50.00



Add to Cart:

  • Model: 49359-2
  • In Stock

Limited Edition of 500 copies, in Digipak.

Edacious, voracious, unrestrained appetite... are just a few of the definitions for the word "ravenous", and you couldn't find a better word to describe what drives the German electro band Ravenous and prompts them after a lengthy hiatus to release a new album on the 25th anniversary of their 1996 debut album.

The roots of Ravenous can be traced back to 1989. However they wouldn't harvest any fruits from their hard labor in the recording studio until a few years later: celebrated as newcomer of the year by Off Beat in 1996, releases followed on cult labels such as Zoth Ommog, Bloodline and Metropolis Records. These releases were followed by concert appearances in both Europe and the USA.

Now, after almost a 20 year creative break, where the three completely different characters of the band had gone their own ways: Björn Böttcher delving into label and artist management for Repo Records after his extensive time as a live member of Funker Vogt, Gerrit Thomas, as the musical head of the band, developed into one of the most sought-after music producers in the scene. In addition to Ravenous, both Funker Vogt and Eisfabrik established themselves as successful facets of his work. Tim Fockenbrock, for his part, dedicated himself to various bands with musical roots outside of the scene and allowed himself excursions into the "speaker" genre as a dubbing artist.

Forward to the Roots: Their 4th album unites the members after travelling their different creative paths for what is an exciting mix of new songs, unreleased tracks and rarities from the band's archive, typical for Ravenous: In addition to the re-recording of the single "Frozen Tears" (originally planned for 2001 but never released), Ravenous present three completely new tracks with "Roots", "Here Again" and "Free Me", which are rounded off by the previously unreleased "If You Believe It". The focus for the band is clearly on the 4 new works: The driving beats, the melancholic melodies and the unmistakable charismatic voice of Tim Fockenbrock

Equally interesting for the fans are certainly the treasures from the band's archive, ranging from unreleased versions of tracks from the 1996 debut (recorded by X-Marks the Pedwalk mastermind Andre Schmechta), to unreleased remixes, demos and rarities. All tracks have been carefully re-mastered by Gerrit Thomas.

With "Forward to the Roots" the past was not discarded, but hungrily consumed, internalized and digested with head held high and looking forward to live hungrily into the future again. Coming full circle...

"Forward to the Roots" is, so to speak, a thank you to all the tireless souls who never believed in the demise of this band!

Released Late October 2021 by Repo Records.

Track Listing:
01. Roots 
02. Here Again 
03. Frozen Tears (2021) 
04. Free Me 
05. If You Believe It (2002)
06. Roots (Alternative Vocal Edit) 
07. Frozen Tears (2001) 
08. Violent World (Plain Real Remix 1996)
09. Faster Than Time (Alternative Version 1996) 
10. Flesh And Bone (Alternative Version 1996)
11. Silverray (Radio Edit 1999) 
12. Empire (Unreleased Version 1999) 
13. The Last (Demo 1999)
14. Between The Worlds (Re/Work Remix 2000) 
15. My Name (The Dust of Basement Remix 2000)
16. The Loop (2002)

youtube link pinterest link google link blog link payments we accept
Copyright © 2024 IsoTank Music. Powered by Zen Cart