on all orders over $50.00

Ryuichi Sakamoto + Taylor Deupree: DISAPPEARANCE

$13.99  $9.99
Save: 29% off

Add to Cart:

  • Model: 41627-2
  • In Stock

Isolation, solitude, contemplation. These are the themes that discreetly weave their way through Disappearance, the first collaboration album between 12k"s Taylor Deupree and pioneering electronic composer and pianist Ryuichi Sakamoto. The five tracks that make up Disappearance are delicate and composed, however, they"re not all peacefulness and placidity. Micro-tuned edges, bursts of noise, percussive prepared piano and the warble of old reel-to-reel tape keep the mood grounded and warm, turning it inward and asking the listener to reflect on their path. "Curl to Me," the album"s final piece, is highlighted by the sounds of Ichiko Aoba, a major up-and-coming singer/songwriter from Tokyo. Both Sakamoto and Deupree have recently worked with Aoba in Japan and wanted her presence felt on the album. Emphasizing the solitude and stillness of the recordings, Aoba provided both her voice and the almost disturbingly intimate sound of her own heartbeat. Disappearance is a soundtrack for holding breaths. Sakamoto and Deupree lay down worn roads, but don"t leave signs, for a journey woven together by the quiet celebration of the fragility of nature and life.Released September 2013 on 12K.

youtube link pinterest link google link blog link payments we accept
Copyright © 2018 IsoTank Music. Powered by Zen Cart