on all orders over $50.00



Add to Cart:

  • Model: 49729-1
  • Out of Stock

From Treblezine:
The Pop Group's Y isn’t a dub album, but as post-punk records go, it’s about as close as you can get. Produced by Dennis “Blackbeard” Bovell, a dub veteran who also worked with The Slits and Orange Juice, Y fused the iconoclastic sound of British post-punk in the late ’70s with the studio-as-instrument approach revolutionized in Jamaica earlier that same decade. It’s a crucial element of songs such as “Thief of Fire” and “We Are Time,” wherein the arrangement is often stripped back to its riddim, and Mark Stewart’s echoing vocals fade in and out of frame like a panicked passerby. It doesn’t sound like any record made at the time or since, a marvel of engineering, chemistry and inspired volatility.

Released Late March 2022 by Mute U.S.

Tracks Listing:
01. Philoktet
02. Der Vater
03. Medea Material
04. Ich bin der Engel der Verzweiflung 
05. Flieger, grüß mir die Sonne
06. Ordnung und Disziplin (Müller versus Brecht)
07. Lessing oder Das Ende der Aufklärung 
08. Traumwald
09. Im Herbst 197.. starb...
10. Ich will ein Deutscher sein
11. Ich war die Wunde
12. Das Lied vom einsamen Mädchen
13. Im Herbst  197.. starb...
14. Seife in Bayreuth
15. Herakles 2 oder die Hydra
16. Wir sind das Volk nur durch die Liebe (Abschlussrede von Peter Mlakar, live)

youtube link pinterest link google link blog link payments we accept
Copyright © 2023 IsoTank Music. Powered by Zen Cart