on all orders over $50.00


$29.99  $24.99
Save: 17% off

Add to Cart:

  • Model: 43283-1
  • In Stock

Sonically, Bryn Jones's work as Muslimgauze often pulled in two directions at the same time. The one, towards what fans of Can might call an "ethnographic" kind of practice, especially with his use of vocal samples and percussion instruments from the Middle East and other regions of the world Jones was so interested in (obsessed by?). The other is toward, for lack of more polite phrasing, harshly fucked-up digital noise and beats. Many interesting Muslimgauze releases tend more toward that ethnographic side or find a middle ground between the two impulses, but few of his records slide so much towards the other end of the spectrum as does 1996's Uzbekistani Bizzare and Souk. Aside from the vocal loop/Amen break duet of "Rouge Amin Fraction," the songs here found Jones focusing much more on the electronic music elements always present in his work as Muslimgauze, ranging from the watery, dubby tones that show up on "The Iranian Who Found Allah" and parts of the suite-like "Paper Gulag" through the harsh trebles of "Cafkir Ma Higra" (which bring to mind Aphex Twin's "Ventolin") to the dense digital-sleet-storm of closer "Leboneeze." Elsewhere, tracks like "Cafkir Wa Hig" and "Harijana" serve as master classes in Jones's expertise at twisting his beats and patterns until they practically shred (both themselves and, if you're not careful, the speakers). Uzbekistani Bizzare and Souk was originally issued by Staalplaat on DAT in 1996, and was reissued on CD by Important Records in 2002; this is its first vinyl release. A tough, rigorous set of some of Jones's most beat-focused work as Muslimgauze. Limited edition of 500.

Released Mid-October 2015 on Staalplaat

01. Abdul's Halal     
02. Cafkir Wa Hig     
03. With Indian Rope     
04. Glass Mughal     
05. The Iranian Who Found Allah     
06. Harijana     
07. Rouge Amin Fraction     
08. Glass Mughal     
09. Cafkir Ma Higra     
10. Abdul's Halal (2)     
11. Paper Gulag     
12. Paper Gulag (2)     
13. Leboneeze    

youtube link pinterest link google link blog link payments we accept
Copyright © 2018 IsoTank Music. Powered by Zen Cart