on all orders over $50.00



Add to Cart:

  • Model: 46769-1
  • Out of Stock

Mute today announces a silver double vinyl release of The Best of Fad Gadget out on September 6. Available for the first time on vinyl – and part of the ongoing MUTE 4.0 (1978 > TOMORROW) campaign – the release marks the 40th anniversary of Fad Gadget’s debut 7”, the double A-side single, “Back to Nature” / “The Box.”
The original 2001 CD was the last release before the untimely early death of Frank Tovey aka Fad Gadget in 2002. The track listing, his personal selection, was designed to be both a concise retrospective of the Fad Gadget years and an introduction to his work for a new generation as he embarked on Depeche Mode’s Exciter tour as their special guest.
Fad Gadget was Mute’s first signing and the groundbreaking debut 7”, “Back To Nature” / “The Box” (Oct 1979) – recorded using a drum machine and a synthesiser – was the second release on the label. Alongside Cabaret Voltaire, The Human League, Throbbing Gristle, Soft Cell and The Normal, Frank Tovey was at the forefront of the British electronic movement of the late 70s/early 80s and his live performances, drawing on his art school background and interest in performance art, were intense, spectacular and innovative.
The Best of Fad Gadget features the classic singles “Ricky’s Hand,” “Fireside Favourite,” “Collapsing New People” and “For Whom The Bells Toll” (featuring Alison Moyet). It also includes B-sides and tracks from his celebrated albums Fireside Favourites (1980), Incontinent (1981), Under The Flag (1982), and Gag (1984) as well as “Luxury,” taken from Frank Tovey’s 1986 release, Snakes & Ladders.
This release is the first stage of Mute’s celebration of Frank Tovey’s work. It will be followed by a career-spanning box set in early 2020 marking the 40th anniversary of his first album, Fireside Favourites.

Released Early September 2019 by Mute.

Track Listing:
Side A
1. Back To Nature
2. The Box
3. Ricky's Hand
4. Handshake
Side B
5. Fireside Favourite
6. Insecticide
7. Make Room
8. Lady Shave
Side C
9. Saturday Night Special
10. King Of The Flies
11. Life On The Line
12. 4M
13. For Whom The Bells Toll
Side D
14. Love Parasite
15. I Discover Love
16. Collapsing New People
17. One Man's Meat
18. Luxury

youtube link pinterest link google link blog link payments we accept
Copyright © 2023 IsoTank Music. Powered by Zen Cart