on all orders over $50.00



Add to Cart:

  • Model: 43230-2
  • In Stock

After the ground-breaking release of 1990's "Love's Secret Domain" album, Coil were not dormant; the main project was "Backwards", which was started in 1992, updated considerably between 1993 and 1995, and transferred in 1996 to New Orleans/USA, where it was finished in the magic of the ‘Nothing studios’ of Trent Reznor (Nine Inch Nails). The album saw the fruition of Jhonn Balance's recent vocal coaching, producing haunting, passionate vocals, while reaching new heights.

23 years after its initiation, these tracks have been beautifully preserved by Danny Hyde and are finally available in highest quality audio. Differing substantially from the later, remixed incarnation, "The New Backwards" (2008), "Backwards" contains the original versions of Coil's much loved tracks; 'A Cold Cell' and 'Fire of the Mind', which have appeared on various compilations over the years, and are now presented as originally intended.

This album is the essential bridge between "LSD" and the later "Musik to Play in the Dark" series. It is an essential conduit, to understand the journey that was taken. It was to be released.. it should have been released... but because of issues with grey men it wasn't. It is now, so enjoy.
Danny Hyde [ex-Psychic TV, Black Light District, Electric Sewer Age].

Released late October 2015 on Cold Spring.

Track Listing:
01 Intro
02 Backwards
03 Amber Rain
04 Fire of the Green Dragon
05 Be careful what you wish for
06 Nature is a Language
07 Heaven's Blade
08 CopaCaballa
09 Paint Me as a dead Soul
10 AYOR (It's in My Blood)
11 A cold Cell
12 Fire of the Mind

youtube link pinterest link google link blog link payments we accept
Copyright © 2019 IsoTank Music. Powered by Zen Cart