on all orders over $50.00

Barry Adamson/Pan Sonic/Halfler Trio, The: HYMN OF THE 7TH ILLUSION, THE VINYL LP


Add to Cart:

  • Model: 44925-1
  • Out of Stock

Pan Sonic, arranged and edited by Barry Adamson (Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds, Magazine), with an additional re-arrangement by The Hafler Trio. Here Barry Adamson and Pan Sonic have composed a lengthy piece, performed by the Hljomeyki choir and Pan Sonic. "...a blend of an Icelandic choir performing Barry's (treated) microtonal, urgent score is slowly infiltrated, first with an electronic breath and then by well-rounded bass that evolves into a satisfactory crescendo before the scary humhum returns... highly successful" (Vital Weekly).
The Hafler Trio's wonderful extended reworking "weaves strong drones together before leveling them to start anew. At times it sounds eerily like the soundtrack to "the monolith" from Stanely Kubrick's 2001: A Space Odyssey, but the intermittent digital crackles and processing bring the listener forcefully up to the present tense. If you are interested in abstract and experimental electronic music, the Hafler Trio deliver a solid remix".
35 minutes. Originally released on CD by Icelandic label Kitchen Motors in 2001, now released on vinyl for the first time by Cold Spring. Produced by Barry Adamson, Jóhann Jóhannsson, and Pan Sonic. The cover art features Icelandic electronic composer Magnús Blöndal Jóhannsson having a brain scan performed while listening to this disc.

180g vinyl with matt card sleeve.
Comes with download card.

Released Late October 2017 on Cold Spring

Track Listing:
01. The Hymn of the 7th Illusion (12:20)  
02. “‘” (0:24)  
03. The Illusion of the 7th Hymn (23:02)

youtube link pinterest link google link blog link payments we accept
Copyright © 2024 IsoTank Music. Powered by Zen Cart